As a result, the county concealed pistol licensing boards will be eliminated and the licensing process for statutorily eligible Michiganders will become markedly more efficient, expedient and uniform. With the elimination of the county concealed weapon licensing boards, county clerks will now administer the concealed pistol licensing process. Background checks that are statutorily required to obtain a concealed pistol license (CPL) will be conducted by the Michigan State Police (MSP). However, the MSP will not retain the discretionary authority formerly held by the county licensing boards since the law mandates that all persons who statutorily qualify for a CPL (i.e. not prohibited under 28.425b and satisfy all financial and submission obligations) shall receive a license. The new licensing process also provides enhanced avenues for redressing licensing delays.
As of December 1, the county clerks and MSP have 45 days—beginning on the date fingerprints are taken—to either issue a CPL or provide a notice of disqualification. If the licensing authority fails to comply with the 45-day requirement, the individual’s fingerprint receipt and driver’s license will serve as a temporary license. For renewals, the expired license will serve as the temporary license.